pgtruspace's blog

about things that interest me.

Primary driver

Primary Coil Driver

Primary Coil Driver

Primary Coil Driver

The primary coil driver set is assembled and ready to go. Left to right, Ganged condenser to drive the primary coil, spark gap attached to aluminum heat sink, chokes for suppression of back EMF to protect the neon transformer and most important part an OFF switch! see spark gap condenser test

The yellow wire is high tension ignition wire. This will allow me to operate the power supply 20 feet remotely from the very high voltage coils and any fields generated on the surface of the disk.

Primary Driver top view

 Driver set top view

When a neon transformer is used it must be protected from the possibility of a high energy kick back from the magnetic collapse of the field in the secondary coil.  A properly sized choke will easily pass current at the 60 cycle frequency of the transformer but strongly resist current at the high frequency of the primary LC  circuit of about 18,000hz.The frequency of the LC tank circuit (inductance/capacitance) of the primary is caused by the charge / discharge of the capacitor through the spark gap and the coil.

side view of primary coil driver

side view of primary coil driver

Driver set side view

The spark gap is to force the charge voltage from the transformer to rise to the break down point of the gap,  current in the circuit has inertia so it will over discharge the capacitance and cause the current to reverse flow. This back and forth flow will continue until the voltage in the circuit is too low to cross the gap. If the circuit is designed correctly the gap will break down early enough in the 60 cycle to bridge the time that the transformer has low voltage from its’ 60 cycle output. This is electronics on a massive scale.

be sure to click on the pictures for more information in the picture comments.  pg

5 responses to “Primary driver

  1. free ps3 March 2, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    I feel that is among the so a lot significant info for me. And i am pleased studying your write-up. But need to observation on some normal issues, The internet site taste is excellent, the articles is actually excellent . Exceptional activity, cheers.

  2. gallopingcamel March 2, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    I have some skill in circuit analysis so I hope you will be kind enough to send me a schematic with notes on circuit operation so that I can better appreciate what you are trying to achieve.

    http://www.fel.duke.edu/fel2000/program/book/node235.html

    The above paper is one that I contributed to during my 12 years at the Duke university Free Electron Laser Laboratory. My name is Peter Morcombe and I blog as “gallopingcamel”:
    http://www.bdidatalynk.com/PeterMorcombe.html
    http://www.gallopingcamel.info/

  3. p.g.sharrow March 4, 2012 at 12:19 am

    @free ps3; you seem to have fallen into the spam bucket where I found your comment. I don’t think wordpress likes your URL picture link.

    @ galloping camel; I will have to think up a way to display a readable schematic that I can create with my available drawing programs. All these coils make for a dense 3-D layout. I will be glad to share with you as soon as I can. I will be glad to have another set of eyes looking over my shoulder. pg

  4. adolfogiurfa March 12, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    @P.G.: That Galloping Camel will be of great help….(I prefer to smoke Camels…:-) )

  5. p.g.sharrow March 13, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    @Aldolfo; I hope that after I get the parts created and can assemble them into a number of configurations for testing, a number of people will appear from the bloggesphere to help with the brain work to understand the experiment results to advance the design of the next phase. pg

please say something interesting

