pgtruspace's blog

about things that interest me.

PG’s Oatmeal Cookies

PG’s Oatmeal cookies, Two of these is a serving of oatmeal!  actually a meal, Bet You can’t eat one!

My inability to get to the local cookie shop, 40 miles away, has forced me to attempt to make my own. A good Oatmeal Cooky is a must in my cooky jar.  Most recipes are regular cookies with oatmeal added and maybe raisins as well.  So after many disappointing results from published recipes, I decided to create my own recipe for Oatmeal cookies. The aim, to make the cookies with lots and lots of oatmeal. So I grind 2-cups of oatmeal to flour to reduce the need for as much wheat flour and added lots more oatmeal, then more eggs to glue it all together! The 3 spice is just enough to add a tiny bit of flavor to the bland oatmeal mix.
dry ingredients: mix in a bowl,  set aside
1-1/2 cups – all purpose flour
2 cups – Oat flour
1 tsp – baking powder
1 tsp – baking soda
1 tsp – salt
2 tsp – 3 spice mix (I use equal amounts of ground nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon)

Grind or fine chop 1-1/2 cups of toasted nuts, set aside (I used walnuts, pecans might be better)  or 1-1/2 cups raisins are good
5 cups – old fashion oatmeal,  set aside ( you might prefer 4 cups for more spice flavor)
break 4 extra large eggs into a bowl,  set aside
note: Important get the egg liquid amount right ! 

In your large mixing bowl add:
16 Tbs – butter, ( 2 sticks ) or 1/2lb. soft or room temperature
1 cup – granulated sugar
1 cup – packed brown sugar
mix butter and sugar to a heavy cream texture, takes about 5 minutes. The mixing of butter and sugar is very important for good cookies, take your time and do it right!
add eggs and mix well  followed by the chopped nuts or raisins

slowly add flour ( dry ingredients mix )  then incorporate the oatmeal

The dough should be moderately stiff and a bit sticky. Let the dough age at least 30 minuets so the oats can moisten and dry the dough.
Onto your prepared cooking sheet, make 3 tablespoon size drops
Do not Flatten! they will sag enough as they cook, if you flatten them they will be thin and tough
Cook in a 350F preheated oven, for about 12 – 13 minutes, or just barely browned.  They will finish about 3 inches in diameter at 3/4 inch thick. Somewhat smooth surface with small cracks. Allow to cool a bit before transferring from cooking sheet as they will be a bit tender while hot. This should yield over 3 dozen cookies…pg

See if you can eat just one! …pg

7 responses to “PG’s Oatmeal Cookies

  1. p.g.sharrow June 29, 2016 at 6:00 am

    Took awhile, Had to eat a lot of cookies to get to this recipe 😎 even had to get help!
    But, I think that this recipe yields something that I like. At 4 cups of oats the 3spice is noticeable but at 5 cups of oats, just barely a hint of the spices. Texture barely changes so you might prefer the taste of a 4 cup mix. Going from 3 to 4 extra large eggs made a BIG difference in texture. Cooking, after 15 minuets @ 350F the cookies begin to brown. I like mine a bit on the soft side, so 15 to 16 minuets is done enough. Three of these is a substantial snack, at 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1/3 of an egg .
    Now need to make another batch of Triple Peanut Cookies to fill my cooky jar.
    Oatmeal is very good for clearing your heart arteries and these cookies have over twice the oatmeal of regular oatmeal cookies. If you rather, add raisins or other tasties. This mix will stand up to it.
    Need to send some those, as well as some of the 4 cup and 5 cup oatmeal to my grandson taste tester…pg

  2. p.g.sharrow July 11, 2016 at 9:00 pm

    Well it seems to be unanimous. Everyone votes for the 5 cup oatmeal recipe. 8-)…pg

  3. Zeke February 26, 2017 at 1:18 pm

    We need to make these! I will try to work in a history of oats, and then use this as LAB.

    This week we were studying Vermont so I let them buy maple syrup (100%), cheddar and…Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream. So the teen agers think hippies make good ice cream. (: I said it requires more research and comparisons.

  4. p.g.sharrow February 27, 2017 at 8:14 am

    @Zeke; hope your students have fun. My mother started me cooking, er helping her, very young. Cooky making was my favorite! Specially cleaning out the bowl and mixer beaters. 😛

    While I hand shape the Peanut cookie’s oily dough, the Oatmeal dough is sticky, so they are best created as drop cookies.
    I find I prefer the Raisins sweetness to the texture and flavor of the nuts. Mixing in the these additives before the dry ingredients seems to incorporate them better.
    I find that 12-13 minutes @ 350F is a bit under cooked and 15-16 a bit too cooked for my taste. Ovens may vary! Just starting to brown at the edges is what I look for. bonny appetite !…pg 😎

  5. Zeke March 15, 2017 at 6:02 pm

    I can’t seem to get into the kitchen. So much happens every day. Every single day there are major events — and thankfully, some of them are very good developments.

    So you are the one who first made me aware of Valerie Jarrett. Did you know that she has moved in with the Obamas in a house located in Washington DC? I find that kind of creepy.

  6. Zeke March 19, 2017 at 9:43 am

    Maybe it was not Valerie Jarrett, but Huma Abedeen, that you posted about. Any way, I remember you were way ahead of every one on one of these extremely close advisors to the Obama/Clinton admin.

    Cheerio, happy Spring

  7. p.g.sharrow March 19, 2017 at 5:13 pm

    @Zeke; Valerie has been at Barrack’s side for a very long time. Never far from his side, this reminds me of a “handler” or second “wife”. Huma Abedeen serves the same purpose at Hillary’s side. The Muslim Brotherhood keeps a close contact with it’s operatives.
    It would be natural for an important Muslim man to keep his women close at hand…pg

please say something interesting

